Announcing the Nelda Hodges Young Artist Competition Finalists!

By March 15, 2018Uncategorized

The Abilene Philharmonic is pleased to announce the 5 finalists for the
10th annual Nelda Hodges Young Artist Competition!

Nelda Hodges Young Artist Competition Finalists:

Tommy Thomas – Age: 14, Abilene TX, Piano
Eaaron Pye – Age 17, Abilene TX, Piano
Feisi “Faith” Fang – Age 15, Abilene TX, Violin
James Melson – Age 17, Abilene TX, Marimba/Vibraphone
Kenneth Knight – Age 17, Tyler TX, Cello

Come join us on March 24th at 3:00 PM in the Williams Performing Arts Center for the 2018 Nelda Hodges Young Artist Competition Final Round!

The Abilene Philharmonic’s Nelda Hodges Young Artist Competition was established in 2008 to help support outstanding young musicians in the Abilene area. Nelda Hodges, and her husband Eddie, were outstanding supporters of the Philharmonic Orchestra, Foundation and guild for almost 60 years. Eddie Hodges created the competition in honor of his wife to inspire and reward young artist’s love for music. The competition is open to woodwind, brass, percussion, string, and piano students between the ages of 12-18 that live in Texas School Regions 9, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, and have not yet graduated high school.

The Nelda Hodges Young Artist Competition consists of two rounds. During the first round of the competition, judges evaluate a live recording of the performer. Finalists are invited to the second round, to perform live for a panel of esteemed judges, including the Abilene Philharmonic’s Music Director David Itkin. Scholarship awards may be used to further the student’s musical education, including private music lessons, music camps, and university tuition. The first place winner will receive $1,500, second place will be awarded with $1,000 and third place will be given $750.

The Abilene Philharmonic is honored and overjoyed to present these 5 exquisite performers and hope that you will join us to celebrate and empower these young artists. Make sure you make plans to be with us on March 24th as we celebrate their accomplishments.